Driving Without Insurance Lawyer in Ulster County, NY
Anyone who operates a moving vehicle, be it a car, truck, motorcycle, bus, etc., must have insurance. If you are caught driving without valid insurance in Ulster County, New York, you will be facing fines, penalties, points and possibly jail time. This is a serious offense – with severe repercussions if you plead or are found guilty. You will have a criminal record and may have to pay fines up to $1,500.Consult with an Attorney Before You Do Anything
If you pay a traffic ticket in Ulster County, it’s a guilty plea. You waive your right to a presenting a defense in an effort to get the penalties reduced. Don’t pay any tickets before you’ve spoken with a lawyer. In most cases you do not have to appear in court. As your lawyer, I can stand in your place in court and in negotiations, saving you precious time and money if you live far away. In many cases, I can reduce a driving without insurance ticket to a lesser charge or a non-moving violation.
Let me put my 36 years of traffic ticket defense experience to work for you. I defend local residents as well as out-of-state drivers and even those from Canada who are just passing through. Call 845-834-4747 or send an e-mail to arrange for a consultation.NY Insurance Requirements
The right to drive in New York is not a privilege. Automobile drivers who live or drive in NY are required to have auto insurance from a NY approved insurance company for accidents to compensate the other driver for property damage and for bodily injury. Additionally, car owners are required to have insurance if they let somebody else drive their car. You should have your insurance ID in your vehicle. If your insurance is not current, and you get stopped, authorities will be able to determine that you are driving without insurance right away.What Happens if You Don’t Have Insurance?
The list is long and severe as well as costly:
- Your license will be suspended
- Your vehicle registration will be revoked for one year
- Your fines could run $1,500
- The cost to get your license back will run $750
- There will be an additional Driver Assessment Fee
- Your insurance will rise when you buy it, if you’re lucky enough to get it
- You will have a criminal record
There are additional penalties if you get into an accident without insurance. If you don’t have insurance, you can be held personally liable for the damages occurring from the accident which can include the cost to repair a vehicle, medical bills, lost wages and the pain and suffering of anyone hurt.There are Possible Defenses to Driving Without Insurance
You may be able to show that your insurance was active when you were stopped or that someone used the car without your permission. There may be arguments to reduce the charges to lesser charges or even technical arguments to dismiss the charges altogether. I’ve worked on behalf of many people, like you, who have been ticketed for driving without insurance in the state of New York. Talk to me before you plead guilty, pay the ticket and suffer the other costly consequences.
For a free consultation, call 845-834-4747 or send us an e-mail. If you choose to have me represent you, I can usually handle all aspects of your case without you having to appear in court. I represent clients in Ulster County and Orange County, New York.